MSH: President Barack Obama Continues to Outsource Terror

President Barack Obama continues to outsource torture

(monkeysmashesheaven.wordpress.com)

President Barack Obama has issued an executive order that extends the CIA’s ability to carry out renditions. (1) Obama has chosen to continue the Bush administrations controversial “torture by proxy” policies that have come under fire even by the bourgeoisie. To those paying attention, it is no surprise that Obama’s message of change is empty rhetoric. In ordering Guantánamo Bay Prison closed, but extending renditions, Obama’s change is exposed as merely cosmetic — the current administration has no problem with torture when it is able to keep a lid on the media exposure. Newsflash: Obama is just another face, for the same old murderous system. (2)

“Rendition” is where the CIA targets those it dislikes, then, with no due process, the CIA kidnaps them, takes them away to black sites, often in other nations, where the suspect is interrogated and tortured. One of the most famous cases is that of Maher Arar. Arar’s Kafkaesque nightmare began at a JFK International stopover on September 26, 2002. (3) Arar, a Kanadian citizen, was kidnapped by FBI agents from the airport and denied the ability to speak with a lawyer. Over the next ten months he is confined to solitary confinement in a roughly one meter by two meter Syrian “grave.” He is forced to endure beatings and torture outsourced to Syria by the U$:

“This moment is still vivid in my mind because it was the first I was ever beaten in my life. Then he asked me to open my left hand. He hit me again. And that one missed and hit my wrist. The pain from that hit lasted approximately six months. And then he would ask me questions. And I would have to answer very quickly. And then he would repeat the beating this time anywhere on my, on my body. Sometimes he would take me to a room where I could, where I was alone, I could hear other prisoners being tortured, severely tortured. I remember that I used to hear their screams. I just couldn’t believe it, that human beings would do this to other human beings.

And then they would take me back to the interrogation room. Again another set of questions, and the beating starts again and again. On the third day the beating was the worst. They beat me a lot with the cable.” (4)

This is the supposed “change” that Obama represents. This is the great hope that so-called “new communist movement” activists whipped themselves into a frenzy to support in the last election cycle. New face, same old imperialism.

Notes.

1. http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/world/us_and_americas/article5636297.ece

2. http://monkeysmashesheaven.wordpress.com/2008/11/21/is-barrack-obama-a-house-negro/

3. http://www.counterpunch.org/arar10272006.html

4. ibid.

Leave a comment

Filed under Barack Obama, News and Analysis

Leave a Reply

